web analytics
Home / Uncategorized / 2014 government holidays in South Australia, australia

2014 government holidays in South Australia, australia

The list of government holidays in South Australia state for the year 2014 is mentioned below. Some of the holidays are declared by government holidays and some of the holidays are declared by state government. Every year, the holiday Below New Year’s Day, Australia Day, March Public Holiday, Good Friday, Easter Saturday, Easter Monday, Anzac Day, Queen’s Birthday, Labour Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and, New Year’s Eve

List of government holidays 2014 in South Australia

Date Day Holiday
January 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day
January 27 Monday Australia Day
March 10 Monday March Public Holiday
April 18 Friday Good Friday
April 19 Saturday Easter Saturday
April 21 Monday Easter Monday
April 25 Friday Anzac Day
June 9 Monday Queen’s Birthday
October 6 Monday Labour Day
December 24 Wednesday Christmas Eve
December 25 Thursday Christmas Day
December 26 Friday Boxing Day
December 31 Tuesday New Year’s Eve

2014 New Year date January 01 (01/01/2014)

Romans originally dedicated New Year’s Day to Janus, the god of gates, doors, and beginnings for whom the first month of the year (January) is named.New Year’s Day is observed on January 1,the first day of the year on the modern Gregorian calendar as well as the Julian calendar used in the Roman Empire since 45 BC.New Year’s Day is probably the world’s most celebrated public holiday, often observed with fireworks at the stroke of midnight as the new year starts in each time zone.

2014 Australia Day date January 26 (26/01/2014)

Australia Day is the official national day of Australia. Its Celebrated annually on 26 January, which marks the anniversary of the 1788 arrival of the First Fleet of British Ships at Sydney Cove, New South Wales, and raising of the Flag of Great Britain at that site by Governor Arthur Phillip. In contemporary Australia, celebrations reflect the diverse society and landscape of the nation, and are marked by community and family events, reflections on Australian history, official community awards, and citizenship ceremonies welcoming new immigrants into the Australian community

2014 Canberra Day date March 10 (10/01/2014)

Canberra Day is a public holiday held annually on the second Monday in March in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) to celebrate the official naming of Canberra. Canberra was named at a ceremony on 12 March 1913 by Lady Denman, the wife of the then Governor of General Lord Denman. In 2012 Canberra Day falls on 12 March. In 2013 it falls on 11 March. On 3 March 2007, ACT Minister Andrew Barr introduced a bill to change the day of Canberra Day to the second Monday in March so it falls closer more often to the actual birthday of Canberra. Previously it had been held on the third Monday in March.

2014 Good Friday date April 18 (18/04/2014)

Good Friday is a religious holiday observed primarily by Christians commemorating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and his death at Calvary.

2014 Easter Saturday date April 19 (19/04/2014)

Easter Saturday or Bright Saturday, on the Christian calendar is the Saturday following the festival of Easter, the Saturday of Easter or Bright Week.

2014 Anzac day date April 25 (25/04/2014)

Anzac Day is a national day of remembrance in Australia and New Zealand that broadly commemorates all Australians and New Zealanders “who served and died in all wars, conflicts, and peacekeeping operations” and “the contribution and suffering of all those who have served.Originally 25 April every year was to honour the members of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who fought at Gallipoli in the Ottoman Empire during World War I. Anzac Day is also observed in the Cook Islands, Niue, Pitcairn Islands, and Tonga. It is no longer observed as a national holiday in Papua New Guinea or Samoa.

2014 Anzac day date June 9 (09/04/2014)

The Queen’s Official Birthday is the selected day on which the birthday of the monarch of the Commonwealth realms. currently Queen Elizabeth II is officially celebrated in those countries. The date varies as adopted by each Commonwealth country, but is generally around the end of May to the start of June, to coincide with a high probability of fine weather in the Northern Hemisphere for outdoor ceremonies.

2014 Family and Community day date September 29 (29/09/2014)

Family Day is the name of a public holiday in South Africa, in the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and Ontario, in the American states of Arizona and Nevada, in Vanuatu, in Vietnam and in the Australian Capital Territory.

2014 Labour and Community day date October 6 (06/10/2014)

This is about Labour Day observances in different countries. For the workers’ holiday held on May 1, see International Workers’ Day  and Australia celebrates on October 6 on this year.

Celebrating the Australian labour movement and specifically the achievement of a working day limited to eight hours, the Labour Day public holiday is fixed by the various state and territory governments, and so varies considerably. It is the first Monday in October in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia and,  Queensland. In both Victoria and Tasmania, it is the second Monday in March (though the latter calls it Eight Hours Day). In Western Australia, Labour Day is the first Monday in March. In the Northern Territory, it is the first Monday in May.

2014 Christmas Date December 25 (25/12/2014)

Christmas is an annual commemoration of the birth of Jesus Christ and a widely observed holiday, celebrated generally on December 25 by millions of people around the world.

2014 Boxing Day Date December 26 (26/12/2014)

Boxing Day is traditionally the day following Christmas Day, when servants and tradesmen would receive gifts from their bosses or employers, known as a “Christmas box”. Today, Boxing Day is better known as a bank or public holiday that occurs on 26 December, or the first or second weekday after Christmas Day, depending on national or regional laws. It is observed in the United Kingdom, Canada, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and some other Commonwealth nations.

Bank Holiday soon..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *